Forum » Feedback and Ideas

More artist control?

• More artist control?

As an artist, I find it extremely frustrating that other people can upload "unofficial" photographs to my band's page. I also find a lot of the moronic comments and spamming quite frustrating. This is something which has been expressed by many other musicians I have spoken to as well. I think it would be a good idea to allow registered artists the option to turn on and off the ability for users to post photographs, as well as the shoutbox, or at least allow the ability to remove spam posts etc.

• [spam]

[spam]

Modificato da Ziomek2000 in data Mag 17 2012, 21:02
    • tburny ha detto...
    • Forum Moderator
    • Mag 17 2012, 21:49

Re: More artist control?

In my opinion, the freedom of the user is, within bounds, one of the most important things for last.fm. It allows users to exchange ideas, discuss and make recommendations, which greatly benefits the artists.
    The internet might be of morons and spammers, but us moderators (and the last.fm staff, of course) will try our best to fight these in our leisure time, to provide the best possible last.fm experience for all users - provided that trolls and spammers get reported.

If there is too much trouble with artist pictures or shoutboxes, staff can - as far as I know - lock them. I'd like to ask you to contact Lastfmsupport in these cases :)

Combo.fm: Combine your favourite radio stations! | My Blog | scala-lastfmapi | Cache2k - A high performance Java in-memory cache
    P.S.: Do not click here
    throw new PokemonException(); //Gotta catch 'em all
    My forum post reflects my personal opinion :)
    • liftarn ha detto...
    • Wiki Moderator
    • Mag 22 2012, 10:01
    Many users feel that official photos (especially by labels) are... sub-standard (to put it polite). I have seen a few really horrible examples.

Please do yourself and Last.fm a favour and fix your tags. The easiest way is to use Musicbrainz Picard.